Judiciary The Bahamas

The Courts

Court Index

Courts Throughout The Bahamas

Below is a listing of the types of courts in The Bahamas and their locations.

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is made up of a Chief Justice and not more than twenty and not less than six Justices of the Court. The Supreme Court has unlimited jurisdiction in general, civil and criminal matters.

Magistrates Court

The Magistrates Court of The Bahamas is the primary court for many civil and criminal cases. This court is presided over by Stipendiary and Circuit Magistrates, including the Chief Magistrate and two Deputy Chief Magistrates.

Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal is the highest Court resident in The Bahamas. It is a part of the judicial branch of the Government of The Bahamas and was established by Article 98 of the Constitution of The Commonwealth of The Bahamas.

Court of Appeal

Privy Council

The Judicial Committee of The Privy Council (JCPC) is the court of final appeal for the UK overseas territories and Crown dependencies, and for those Commonwealth countries that have retained the appeal to Her Majesty in Council or, in the case of Republics, to the Judicial Committee.

Privy Council